The Rocky Mountain Conference on Magnetic Resonance will hold its Conference Banquet & Awards Ceremony on July 23, 2020 at the Copper Conference Center, in Copper Mountain, Colorado. The event will consist of dinner, cash bar, a feature presentation, “In the Beginning…. It’s all about Electronic Structure and Molecular Dynamics” by Cynthia Jameson of University of Illinois at Chicago, followed by an awards ceremony recognizing leaders and achievements in the EPR and Solid-state NMR communities.

Cynthia Jameson – University of Illinois at Chicago

Cynthia Jameson is a renowned scholar in NMR spectroscopy and quantum chemistry. She is a Professor Emerita of Chemistry at the University of Illinois at Chicago. Born in the Philippines, she completed her bachelor’s degree of chemistry Magna cum Laude at the University of the Philippines in 1958. She moved to the US to pursue her graduate studies at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in 1963, where she worked with Herbert S. Gutowski. Her postdoc was at Columbia University with Martin Karplus. Prof. Jameson has been on the faculty at the University of Illinois at Chicago from 1968. For her work and service, she was recognized by many awards. Jameson is a Fellow of the AAAS, since 1988. She was named a Miller Fellow at UC Berkeley. Jameson served as the Camille and Henry Dreyfus Senior Scientist Mentor and the Senior University Scholar. Finally, she was awarded the high distinction by our community, named the Vaughan Lecturer in 2000.

The Rocky Mountain Conference is an exceptional opportunity for the EPR and Solid-state NMR communities to come together, and the banquet is a celebration of common interests in magnetic resonance.

© Rocky Mountain Conference 2024